Link Round-Up [10.21.16]

1. My NerdCon Stories Talk about Mental Illness and Creativity – John Green, Medium

Here Green shares three stories about bad times in his life; The Alaska Implosion, The Sprite Debacle and the collapse of last year.

He discusses the difficulties of being creative while battle mental illness and the romanticized stigma that flirting with the brink of mental health elevates an artist’s creativity.

“In the end, I feel that romanticizing mental illness is dangerous and destructive just as stigmatizing it is. So I want to say that, yes, I am mentally ill. I’m not embarrassed about it. And I have written my best work not when flirting with the brink, but when treating my chronic health problem with consistency and care.”

2. My daughter, who lost her battle with mental illness, is still the bravest person I know –  Doris A. Fuller, The Washington Post

Fuller writes about her daughter’s battle with mental illness in this moving article and stresses that her daughter’s suicide doesn’t diminish her courage and bravery.

“My daughter lived more than six years with an incurable disease that filled her head with devils that literally hounded her to death, and she did it while laughing, painting, writing poetry, advocating and bringing joy to the people around her. She was the bravest person I have ever known, and her suicide doesn’t change that.”

3. Please Do Not Dismiss My Mental Illness – katiereablog

This 24-year-old blogger discusses what not to say to a person with a mental illness. At the top of is list is “you’ll be fine.”

Instead, Katie recommends using phrases like “you’re not alone in this” or “I can’t really understand what you are feeling, but I can offer my compassion.”

Check out her post for suggestions on how to comfort someone with a mental illness and not dismiss their struggles.

4. Tweet of the Week

This tweet from @MentalHelpNet was just one in their twitter chat on domestic violence and abusive relationships.

As someone who’s been trapped in an emotionally abusive relationship, I know how hard it is to spot the signs and encouraging discussion about them is an important step forward to helping those in emotionally abusive situations.

Screen Shot 2016-10-20 at 9.16.47 PM.png

5. Borrowed Time

While animated films and videos are perhaps thought of as just a medium for children, filmmakers around the world are showing that it can also explore dark, painful subjects.

This Pixar short deals with grief and guilt and suicide. It’s absolutely heartbreaking to watch and teaches us to find the strength to carry on in even the littlest of things – like an old broken pocket watch.

 

Leave a Reply

