How to stay accountable for your new years resolutions

I honestly can’t tell you of a single year where I upheld any new years resolution for more than a week.

And I’m not alone. According to Statistic Brain, only 45 percent of Americans usually make resolutions and only 8 percent of them are successful in achieving their goals.

But the Statistic Brain Research Institute also claims that people who explicitly make resolutions are 10 times more likely to achieve their goals.

I’ve made the commitment to make this year different. I’ve decided to take a more active role in reaching for happiness and my resolutions for a healthier, more productive and more money conscious lifestyle are small steps towards that.

Here are a few things that I’ll be doing to try and make my endeavor into new years resolutions a successful one.

1. Get organized.

When I was in college I got pretty obsessive with how I used my planner to keep myself organized and on track with school work.

I’ve recently picked up bullet journaling, a beautiful though slightly intimidating way to keep track of real life adult tasks. There are tons of bullet journaling guides such as this one from Buzzfeed which focuses specifically on mental health.

Using these journals help me stay focused and organized. They’re also a great way for you to see your progress overtime.

If it’s overwhelming for you, start small and simple without all the frills and decorations to see if it’s something that helps your productivity.

And if handwritten journals aren’t your thing, give a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet a try. That’s where I’m compiling my budget tracker for easy calculations and so far I love it.

journal.jpeg

2. Tell a friend.

For me, it’s way easier to accomplish things if I have someone else besides myself to answer to.

One of my best friends has some similar resolutions on her list and together I hope we can keep each other on track and motivated.

Resolutions are difficult to maintain and having someone go through that struggle alongside you can be the best kind of motivation on the days where you don’t feel like you can do it.

3. Find a community.

And what’s what step better than just telling one friend? Finding a community to draw support from.

I used to get annoyed by people who constantly post about their workouts or diets on social media, but I can see how those public posts are good ways for them to find support from others.

4. Cut yourself some slack.

It’s going to be difficult to accomplish your goals and there will be days you slip up. No one is perfect. But don’t let one mess up or two completely derail you from your main goal.

It’s okay to fall down as long as you get back up.

I’ve always had this “all or nothing” mentality where even if I slipped up once, I felt that it wasn’t worth continuing until the next week or the next month or the next clean slate. I had this pressure to be perfect and that was such a flawed expectation that kept me from making any progress at all.

3 thoughts on “How to stay accountable for your new years resolutions

Leave a Reply

