The Depression Report: small victories

Last week was… a good one.

No big breakdowns, no terrible stretches of uncontrollable crying, not too much time spent lingering on my mistakes and failures.

I took a major step last Friday towards getting my life back on track. Went to the DMV (which had a surprisingly short wait) and got my driving permit.

I’ll admit that while I was taking the permit test, my heart was racing and I had doubts that I would be able to do it. But once I passed (with only three missed questions) I felt such a relief and such a burden lifted from my shoulders.

Of course that was only to be replaced by the fear of, you know, actually driving a car.

But out of the pan and into the fire I went and immediately went around driving for a bit. I don’t think I was ever more nervous or tense getting into a car, but after the half hour of practice, I felt so good about myself for overcoming one of my fears.

This beat up, annotated manual is one I have had for years. Before it represented all the times that I have tried and failed to overcome my fears, only to succumb to the hardest parts. Now it stands as a symbol for my strength and resilience, as a reminder that yes, I can grit my teeth and overcome my fears and do the hard thing.

I’m hoping to remember that and remember the feeling of accomplishment I had on Friday afternoon to push myself further every day to do better and work harder.

This is my third Depression Report. And things are looking good.

~ Kayla

Related: HOW NOT KNOWING HOW TO DRIVE MAKES ME DEPRESSED

Related: MENTAL ILLNESS AND DRIVING: WHAT’S THE CONNECTION? 

Leave a comment