January Favorites

I know, I know.

I’m jumping on that youtuber vlogger/beauty blogger thing of posting a monthly favorites post.

But here are some of the things that I’ve used this month that have helped me with self-care. I’d love to hear with your favorites are!

Candles

I’ve taken to closing my nights by lighting a few candles as I’m getting ready for bed. It’s so relaxing and calming and cozy.

For years I was the type of person that rarely burned candles because I didn’t want to waste them. But now I think it’s definitely worth it.

candles1.jpg

These are the candles I’ve been using lately:

  • Radiant Red Maple – Bath and Bodyworks – smells like fall and warmth
  • Mahogany Teakwood – Bath and Bodyworks – my friends and I call this the ‘hot man candle’ because it smells like a sexy man
  • Apple Orchard – Ashland – I picked up these two Ashland candles on a whim at a CVS and I’m so glad I did. They smell great, set a nice relaxing mood and were pretty cheap.
  • Vanilla – Ashland – classic vanilla but not overpoweringly sweet, this candle is almost all burned up

Baths

It’s been ages since I’ve lived somewhere with an actual bathtub. I’ve always been more of a shower person but this past month I’ve been taking tons of baths. I’ll fill up the tub, perch my laptop on a nearby stand and throw on a show or podcast as I soak and let my muscles relax.

I think I’ll have to up my game by throwing in some bath bombs next.

Magazines

A few weeks ago I got an alert that my saved up miles with an airline were about to expire. I didn’t have any trips planned but the airline did offer me the option of cashing in my points for magazines.

So far I’ve gotten copies of Entertainment Weekly, Vogue and New York Magazine and I love them. I’d forgotten how satisfying it is to physically read articles as opposed to scrolling through them online. Plus, magazines are displayed and designed in a way that the internet hasn’t been able to replicate yet.

DSC_0539.JPG

Photography

My big Christmas present this year was a DSLR camera. I’ve had a blast taking pictures, and this new creative outlet has really been amazing at lifting my spirits.

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened – Jenny Lawson

book1.jpgI’ve written about this before but it was a weird and hilarious memoir that touches on some mental health issues.

Lawson’s writing won’t be for everyone, it’s ramble-y and full of non-sequiturs, but if you can get past that, it can be quite charming.

It offers some pretty honest yet funny insights onto eating disorders, anxiety, miscarriage and depression.

The Crown, The West Wing

After all the attention The Crown received at the Golden Globes, I finally decided to watch the series after it had been sitting on my watch list for months. It’s amazing to watch a young Queen Elizabeth II find her feet as a ruler and to watch the struggle for power in the royal palace. Claire Foy has an subtle yet excellent performance of the young, unsure yet strong queen. Personally I found her husband Prince Philip, played by Matt Smith, to be

With the crazy political atmosphere in the United States, I’ve been delving into a re-watch of The West Wing in a form of escapism. Sorkin’s fast paced dialogue and wit make the show so entertaining and there is such great discussion about policies relating to gay marriage, radical Islamists and gun control. One of the standout episodes I watched was season 2’s “The Stackhouse Filibuster” where a senator delays a vote because he wants more funding and attention towards autism research added onto a bill.

Leave a Reply

